Now I have to make a confession. Until recently, I was never a breakfast person. I would say I really got into on set in NY because there were so many yummy options for breakfast and it was right in front of me. I also realized that I really could function a lot more effectively with something in my stomach. I need a bit of time to wake up before I eat something though, some people wake up and can eat right away, I am not one of those people.

In fact before a  workout I usually eat only a banana with some peanut butter or a piece of fruit and some water.

Today after an intense Core class workout, I came home starving. Here is one of my go-to breakfasts when I need something that will fill me up and get me through a large part of the day. I added something extra since we had it in the fridge….bacon!

Recipe:

English muffin or piece of toast

1 hard boiled egg

Avocado – as much as you’d like ( I used a 1/4 total)

1 piece of bacon/turkey bacon

Little butter/margarine

Pepper/Red chili flakes and a touch of salt if you are skipping the bacon

Small side of fruit

I love this recipe for after  a workout because the egg/bacon is a great source of protein, the avocado is full of omega 3’s, the blueberries are loaded with anti-oxidants and the english muffin gives you the carbs needed for that morning energy. Accompany with a cup of green tea and you are off!

