Tonight I was on a mission to make a new fried rice recipe that I just read about and some stir fry to go along with it.

Got the trusty rice cooker out again now that we are on good terms and popped in some brown rice, I love watching it bubble.

I got to work chopping all my veggies. Tonight was red bell peppers, broccoli, cabbage, carrots, snap peas and some finely chopped fresh ginger and garlic.

This recipe that I use I change up all of the time but tonight I just heated some olive oil in my pan on med-high heat, stir fried the broccoli first, bell peppers, carrots, the snap peas and garlic and ginger, adding oil as needed. It cooks up really fast, probably a solid 10 minutes and dinner will be ready. Oh I added some chopped up turkey cutlets to this as well, to satisfy my meat craving fiance.

Chris was coming over for dinner, we love having him over and he comes over at least once a week and is such a great sport about trying all of my kitchen experiments.

The last step is I threw in 2 tbls. of Trader Joe’s Wasabi Sesame drizzling sauce, this stuff was fantastic and the house started to smell fabulous, the minute Chris walked in he knew we were having Chinese food!

On the side was this vegetarian fried rice, so easy to make while the veggies stir fried up!

Serves 4 – 6

  • 4 – 6 asparagus stems
  • 450 grams steamed or boiled rice
  • 2 egg whites beaten (optional)
  • 2 spring onions chopped
  • 4 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ½ tsp salt

Break off tough stems of the asparagus and chop into 2 cm pieces, rinse. Stir fry in 1 tbsp oil for 1 – 2 minutes, remove from the wok. Add more oil to the wok if necessary and, when hot add the beaten egg whites to form a thin pancake. As soon as the egg is cooked remove from the pan and chop.

Heat 2 – 3 tablespoons of oil in the wok, when hot stir-fry the white part of the spring onion, add the cooked rice and stir over a low heat until the rice is uniformly heated through. Add the asparagus, egg whites and salt and stir and mix all the ingredients together until piping hot.

Don’t forget your sriracha sauce for the side, can’t get enough of it!

