I love beets but I’ve always been a bit scared of preparing them myself because I’ve heard they stain your fingers and clothes. With all of the white I wear and clumsiness I have, adding something like this in my kitchen seemed like a lose lose. After seeing gorgeous bunches of them at the farmer’s market I decided it was time I tamed this beast. 

Joy of Cooking came to my rescue for this. I love that cookbook. Anytime you have something in your fridge and you wonder, what is  another way to cook this, they always have a solution. No photos but easy recipes for almost anything, what more can you ask? 

Here is the recipe that helped me overcome my fear of cooking beets. 

Preheat oven to 375

Trim the stems off the beets

Drizzle with olive oil and salt and pepper

Tightly cover with aluminum foil and roast for 40-45 minutes

Let them cool and peel off the skin using paper towels (Photo below)

Serve immediately or let cool completely and store for future use

How easy is that? 

