I am going to post a little out of order but I want to write about this salad we just ate for dinner while its fresh in my mind. I was watching Barefoot Contessa on my DVR and Ina was making her Cape Cod Chop Salad.  It was just the time that Ty and I were trying to decide what to have for dinner. Originally it was going to be salmon that we purchased at the farmer’s market but for some reason it just wasn’t sounding all that great to us tonight. 

Once we saw this salad that Ina was making we had to try and whip it up, coincidentally I had almost all of the necessary ingredients!  

Here is the recipe, I will add my twist to it in pink: 

Ina’s Cape Cod Chop Salad

  • 8 ounces thick-cut bacon, such as Niman Ranch
  • 8 ounces baby arugula – I also added some Heirloom lettuce
  • 1 large Granny Smith apple, peeled and diced – We used a pink lady apple
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnut halves, coarsely chopped (see note)
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 6 ounces blue cheese, such as Roquefort, crumbled – We used Maytag blue cheese
  • We added a roasted beet which was a great addition!

For the dressing:

  • 3 tablespoons good apple cider vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon grated orange zest – I used grapefruit
  • 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice – Also grapefruit
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup – I skipped this by accident and didn’t miss it
  • Kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2/3 cup good olive oil

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. I microwaved my bacon, 3 pieces for 3 1/2 minutes or until crispy.

Place a baking rack on a sheet pan and lay the bacon slices on the rack. Roast the bacon for about 20 minutes, until nicely browned. Allow to cool.

In a large bowl, toss together the arugula, apple, walnuts, cranberries, and blue cheese.

For the dressing, whisk together the vinegar, orange zest, orange juice, mustard, maple syrup, 1 1/2 teaspoons salt, and the pepper in a bowl. Slowly whisk in the olive oil.

Chop the bacon in large pieces and add it to the salad. Toss the salad with just enough dressing to moisten. Sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt and toss well. Serve immediately.

We made a side of garlic bread toast with a little butter, fresh chopped garlic and a little grated parmesan cheese. 

This salad was literally my new favorite, so savory and delicious, we wolfed this down and both agreed that we could eat like this every night!

