I cannot tell you how long I have been searching and testing out different tortilla soups and tortilla soup recipes! I once had a fabulous one at Park Chow restaurant in San Francisco, years ago, it was a special and I have never had one like it since… until today. Except this one was WAY better!

I don’t know about you but I don’t make soup that often and I don’t know why. I guess I assume it will be more work and I am not always that into a soup texture but on a rainy day like today, it was the perfect thing.

I should mention first that I received this recipe from Lydia, Aaryn’s Mom, where Aaryn gets her mad cooking skills! She told me about it last weekend while visiting and what I love about their families’ recipes is that they don’t use a lot of strict measurements and they offer a few options to change up the recipe if you’d like. Cooking like this intimidates me, I like to refer to my recipe and have it printed it out, I read it over and over before I start cooking and have to have every ingredient available otherwise I get really nervous. Aaryn comes over and doesn’t measure a thing, chops up things, adds extra herbs that aren’t called for, totally wings it and makes the most amazing dinners. Having her as a roommate for a couple of years was such a treat. I used to come home to dinner already made, she could have cooked Rice a Roni and it would be amazing, not that she would. One of her secrets is to use fresh, organic ingredients and no processed items, I really learned a lot about cooking from her.

Now her Mom, Mrs. Hawley, we might have to add a Cooking with Lydia section to this blog – I’m serious. I’ve tried 3 recipes from her this week and they have both been amazing!

Here is her version of tortilla soup. I am not going to lie, I was a little worried about making this as there are not a lot of instructions but trust me, you can’t screw this up.

Lydia’s Lucious Tortilla Soup

Serves 2-4

  • Grill 2 large chicken breasts
  • In a blender, combine a can of tomotoes, diced green chiles, 3-4 garlic cloves, 1/3 cup cilantro and 1 serrano chile
  • In a pan heat up 2 cups of chicken or vegetable broth (I used veggie) and 1 cup water
  • Cube chicken
  • Throw the blended mixture into the broth and stir to combine, add the chicken and salt to taste
  • Optional: Add black beans, corn, pinto beans (I added black beans and corn)
  • Add a single layer of chips in your bowls that you are going to serve this in and top with Mexican blend grated cheese
  • Top with sour cream, cilantro, avocado, or whatever you would like!

When we took our first bites, we just looked at each other and were smiling ear to ear, it was so satisfying and fresh tasting with that fresh cilantro and your spoon is covered in the now melted cheese, its warm and delicious and can’t be beat.

Thanks Lydia, this was amazing!

