This is what happens when I haven’t been to the store in awhile, am too lazy to go to the store and starving from a workout. Veggie Quesadillas. I surprised myself as these were actually great!  You can use whatever leftover veggies you have in your fridge, here is what I used and it was enough to serve 2 very hungry peops.

You will need:

4 tortillas

Mexican cheese medley, enough to cover 1/2 of 4 quesadillas

Broccoli – finely chopped

1 Carrot – grated

Grape or Cherry tomatoes – as many as desired

1 Avocado

Arrange first the cheese on the tortilla, then broccoli, tomatoes and shredded carrot and top with avocado slices, then fold in half. The avocado almost acts as a little glue when you fold them over.

Grill in a lightly greased pan until both sides are crispy and cheese is melted, about 3 minutes a side on med-high heat.

On the side I served siricha and a lime sour cream that I made with a little lime juice mixed with sour cream.  We didn’t have any salsa but that would be also be delicious.

This can be a great lunch or even an appetizer. I think that when you mix anything with cheese, broccoli, avocado and a tortilla, you can’t really go wrong.  Be adventurous in the kitchen and you may surprise yourself as well!

