Tonight I got an email stating that I didn’t get the job I interviewed for a couple of weeks ago. Great, more cooking time! (no sarcasm there or anything)

I just got this recipe from Aaryn and she gave me a little sample of her version of this earlier today after our run. I was on the fence about making this but those few bites sealed the deal.  Despite the fact that I burned my tongue pretty bad trying it and sliced my finger today cutting chicken earlier, (workman’s comp?) leaving me typing with my middle finger as my pointer, I was amped to try this.

If you have access to this cheese, I highly recommend it, its fabulous.  For a triple creme, it has a considerable amount of stink in the flavor which we miss about the cheese in France. It was the last one in the pile and I wanted to try something that I hadn’t before while I prepared the soup. This also lures my fiance into the kitchen to chat with me instead of powering through a trilogy of “Pawn Stars” reruns while I cook dinner which I like.

Welfare Soup

  • 1 large carrot – chopped
  • 3 Stalks of Celery – chopped
  • 1/2 onion – chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic – chopped
  • Saute the above in olive oil until the onions are almost translucent.
  • Few leaves of Kale, core removed – boiled for 10 minutes, drained and all of the liquid squeezed out of it, then chopped
  • This part is really up to you in terms of measurements:
  • Few cups of Veggie Broth
  • 1/2 Cups of Water
  • 2 Cans of White Beans

Heat this for awhile over med-high heat until its hot, add salt and pepper to taste, then add the veggie mixture and kale. Bring to a boil so it thickens to your desire, about 5 minutes.

This part is optional – 1 sausage link, I used a spicy pork sausage. Saute until meat it cooked through.

I chopped this up into chunks and topped it on the soup when its in the bowl and then added a nice serving of shredded parmesan cheese while piping hot. It will melt perfectly!

Serve with some crispy bread to dip with!

The is for sure way better than the stuff they serve at the soup kitchen.


