At dusk today, which is my favorite time of day, we sat outside and had some chips, guac and salsa. It was the perfect break between the afternoon chores and errands to sit down, relax and enjoy the fruits of our labor.

Needless to say we didn’t have much room left for dinner but I did want to make a little something. My latest go-to is Quinoa and we had just enough for one more batch. This variety is the Red Quinoa which we just discovered. I had no idea that there were so many varieties. This is Ty’s favorite and I think mine too. The black quinoa is not that great tasting and the white kind is a bit sweet but I don’t think it has as many redeeming health qualities.  One day I mixed the white and black together which was pretty tasty.

I sauteed some garlic in olive oil for a few minutes. Then added some asparagus and green beans and when those were looking ready I threw in the chopped cherry tomatoes. The final step was to mix the veggies with the quinoa, add some fresh lemon zest, lemon juice, a sprinkle of olive oil, salt and pepper and red chili flakes and some goat cheese.


It was a great Sunday light dinner for two, not exciting I know! If we had leftovers and jobs it would be the perfect thing to take to work tomorrow to kick off a great week ; ) One day!

