This weekend was a mellow one, I wasn’t feeling so hot so I stayed in, watched movies and cooked the weekend away. Yesterday, we started off with out of the box waffles, bacon, tea, grapefruit and fresh squeezed OJ.

Last night I made a lemon pie, I have a rediculous amount of lemons right now and had to find the best use for them. There has been a lot of hot lemon water going on so it was time for something practical. Ty made some fresh whipped cream. I think it is going to be my summer go to pie for special occasions or random Saturday nights in. Fantastic!
However, I recommend chilling it first because when I served mine still warm, it came out like this.

Not exactly pretty, but it tasted great, so who cares? How could it not, it’s Paula Deen!

Servings: 8 servings
Prep Time: 12 min
Cook Time: 35 min
Difficulty: Moderate

Ingredients:

1   prepared 9-inch graham cracker crust (I made my own crust, see below for details)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 teaspoon grated lemon zest
1   (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
3   large egg yolks

Crust Ingredients:

CRUST
3/4 cup granola (with no raisins or other dried fruit)
3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs (from about 6 whole graham crackers) – (I used Trader Joe’s cinnamon graham crackers and skipped the sugar below)
1/3 cup melted unsalted butter (approx. 3/4 stick)
3 Tablespoons Sugar

FOR CRUST: Preheat over to 350° F. Using on/off pulses, blend granola in processor until coarslet ground. Transfer granola to medium bowl. Mix in graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar. Press crumb mixture over bottom and sides of a 9-inch deep dish dish. Bake until crust is golden brown (about 8 minutes). Reduce oven to 300°. Remove crust from oven and cool completely.

Directions for filling

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the egg yolks and condensed milk. Stir in the lime zest, lime juice, and cream. Pour the filling into the crust and bake about 30 minutes or until firm. Remove pie from oven.

Serve with a whipped cream topping and lemon zest for a garnish.

Today I hit the Farmer’s market to pick up some greens and fruit for the week. We saw some people walking around with these Falafel sandwiches that looked to die for. At only $5 a pop, we were sold. This thing was ROCKIN!

I picked up some hydrangeas and am just finishing up this post before I dive into an afternoon of roasted kale and Rom Com’s!



Oh. When I cook a lot, Tyler usually ends up waking up and doing this in the mornings, which Gustave thinks is just amazing.


Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

